Sen. Ted Cruz

Sen. Ted Cruz

Flag Image Texas

Democracy Score

Very Poor
Did not sign Texas amicus brief
Objected to certification of electoral college votes in one or more states
Made false and/or irresponsible public statements against democratic system
Voted against impeachment or conviction of Donald Trump for inciting an insurrection
Voted against creating an independent commission to investigate the Jan. 6 attack
Did not vote on holding Steve Bannon in contempt of Congress


Sen. Ted Cruz represents Texas as the junior of the state’s two senators. He was first elected to Congress in 2012 and won reelection in 2018. Since first running against him in the 2016 presidential primaries, Sen. Cruz has been one of Trump’s most loyal enablers, going so far as to support efforts to overturn the election during the certification of the Electoral College.

Following the election, Sen. Cruz continued to perpetuate the lie that voter fraud was rampant and changed the outcome of the election.